In order not to lose your work in case of program or system crashes, consider enabling autosave option by checking the appropriate check box and settings desired time interval:
If this option is enabled the program will save all changed notes every [interval] minutes into hidden files. In case of crash you will be prompted to restore these notes next time the program starts.
Default value: unchecked.
Note: setting this option will NOT automatically save your notes, but only temporary copies in case of crash.